You are here

Minister to new NCRHA Board: It’s a major task

Wednesday, December 8, 2010
Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis, front, centre, surrounded by members of the new board of the NCRHA at the Health Ministry’s head office, Park Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday. Photo: Keith Matthews

The new board of the North Central Regional Health Authority (NCRHA) is facing a major task, Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis told the newly-appointed members at their installation yesterday. Baptiste-Cornelis made the disclosure during her address at the presentation of instruments of appointment to the new board members at the ministry’s head office, Park Street, Port-of-Spain.

Explaining why the board was facing a major task and significant responsibilities, she said the NCRHA managed and operated several health facilities, including the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, the Mount Hope Women’s Hospital and the Caura Hospital. She said two of those hospitals were also teaching institutions.

“As a result, over the years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of patients accessing the services offered at the NCRHA,” she added. She said: “In my estimation, there may well be close to half of the total number of patients seeking healthcare in this country going through the halls of the NCRHA.” The minister told the new board: “You can, therefore, imagine that this in itself may present some challenges.

“And, so, understand me when I say that your serving on this board is a major task and with it comes significant responsibilities.” Baptiste-Cornelis said she was proud of the calibre of all members of the new board and urged them to be wise in their spending. “I urge you to ensure that we do not promote unnecessary and wasteful spending at our health facilities but, instead, seek to get the best value for our money.”

The minister said securing the best prices available for services and equipment remained a priority of the Government.

Members of the new NCRHA

 Dr Ashvin Sharma—chairman;

 Dr Sandra Sookram—deputy chairman;

 Dr Sharia Alexander;

 Dr Rampersad Parasram;

 Marlene Skinner;

 Wayne Munroe;

 Ravindra Nanga;

 Anthony Davis; and

 Andrea Yearwood.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.